Skip to Content

Title: wat doen de handen
Artist: Plan Kruutntoone
Available formats: 12″ vinyl, digital download
Catalog#: esc.rec.55
Order the 12″ vinyl via Bandcamp
Listen & download via Bandcamp

This release is also available via many other download and streaming channels, like Spotify, iTunes, etc. Check this Spotify playlist for many more Esc.rec. releases on Spotify.

The vinyl release is also available from several other selected stores.


01 litanie (de witte ruimten zijn de gaten) (7.33)
02 strijk 4 / constant gejaag (1.56)
03 strijk 2 (2.27)
04 broodreeks (4.02)
05 constant gejaag, electrisch (2.43)
06 Beckett en het meisje (bij de mensen blijven) (7.10)
07 strijk 5 (2.48)
08 vergeefs gebed om slaap (3.35)


All music by Plan Kruutntoone.
Plan Kruutntoone is Bas Alblas on bass, Chris Muller on percussion, Hans Visser on guitar, banjo and vocals.
Strijk 2, 4 and 5 are part of the kiralykwartet; five pieces for string quartet by Hans Visser, performed by the Ravivo Quartet, recorded by Chris Muller.
The Samuel Beckett text fragments are taken from “Comment c’est/ How it is”, in the Dutch translation of F.C. Kuipers, published by De Bezige Bij (1968). Other text by Hans Visser.
Recorded, mixed and edited with Dolf Planteijdt in Bergentheim and Amsterdam. Mastering by Zlaya Loud.
Design by Valentijn Kortekaas.
Dedicated to Ceda and Olgica.

Press release

“…and again I woke up. rendering Xenakis pale. shifting myself and stuff around in search of security. how to put it to make it to that?”

The new album by Plan Kruutntoone is called ‘Wat doen de handen/ What are the hands at’. The album stands out by bringing together Plan Kruutntoone’s uncompromising own music and pieces for string quartet, written by Hans. The notes bind it together, as do the disconcerting text fragments of Beckett (‘grope in a panic in the mud for the opener that is my life but of what cannot as much be said could not as much be always said my little lost always vast stretch of time’) alternated with those by Hans. They convey a sense of isolation that, by singing about it, opens up. The result is fragile at times, strangely compelling, harsh and repetitive at others.

‘Wat doen de handen’ was recorded with producer Dolf Planteijdt and is Plan Kruutntoone’s fifth album, following ‘Als alles er af is/After the Harvest’ (2013), ‘Een mooi pak/ From all my secret pockets’ (2007), ‘Gelijktijdigwiel/Sametimewheel’ (2001) en ‘HumpaComa’ (1998).
(Over the past 25 years!) Plan Kruutntoone has played in Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia, Russia and The Netherlands.

Live dates release tour:
15 May: De Pletterij (Haarlem)
16 May: De Ruimte (Amsterdam)
19 May: Vera (Groningen)
17 June: dB’s (Utrecht)
24 June: De Perifeer (Deventer)
25 June: Vrooom (Rotterdam)
9 July: Concerto (Amsterdam)
19 July: Valkhof Festival (Nijmegen)


Check some reviews of this release overhere.

No comments yet.